Latin Scraps

So, I’m sitting here and I’m supposed to be writing an essay on the central theme of poem III.15 by Propertius (which for me really just means fleshing out the notes I’ve spent ages on).

I’m trying to make the point that “immundis” (unclean) can be related to “mundus” (world) – I have a justification for this, as Propertius uses wordplay earlier on in the poem. So I crack out my Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary, which for the record is still huge, because I haven’t found a complete Lewis and Short for Android yet…(classically-minded developers out there, please take pity on those of us who don’t like iStuff!)

…For “mundus” (n), it lists “toilet; ornaments; world; universe”.

If anyone can explain how you get from toilet to world, that would be much appreciated.

Leave a comment