Palestinian-American denied entry into Israel, told “There’s no such thing as Palestine” | #StopIsrael

Occupied Palestine | فلسطين

 Sunday November 17, 2013 02:58 by Yara Karmalawy – mondoweiss.net | IMEMC

I’ve spent my entire life hearing stories about Jerusalem and the beauty of my homeland from my mother and grandparents. I had always dreamed of one day being able to visit, and in the summer of 2012 it seemed that I would finally have that opportunity. In September of that year I started my travels with 30 peers on a student diplomatic trip through the Middle East. I knew that I would likely face some trouble at the Israeli borders due to my Palestinian background, however what I experienced turned out to be far more than just a little “trouble”.

Yara Karmalawy (image by mondoweiss.net)
Yara Karmalawy (image by mondoweiss.net)

On September 13th, 30 of my peers and myself, made our way from Amman, Jordan to the Jordan River Crossing, the international border between Israel and Jordan. We lined up single file to…

View original post 1,685 more words

Leave a Reply

