Since I Turned Eighteen

Since I turned eighteen
I bloomed from a young and awkward girl
into a strange flower of a woman
and I was ready for it.
I braved hardship
and the million heartbreaks of depression;
I threw myself into the grave
and rose again each time
and stood by the graves of others, too,
while the earth slipped from beneath my feet.
A lonely child found
friends, laughter,
life-enriching love,
a niece too.
My roots are deep; my stem rises high towards the sun
but my thorns protect me.
This grown woman
no longer needs the coddling and protection of childhood
nor the drama of adolescence
and she resents it.

Leave a Reply

